Force India F1 PDF Print E-mail

Force India F1

Driver Nº 20 Constructor: Force India Driver Nº 21
Adrian Sutil Engine: Mercedes V8 Giancarlo Fisichella
Tyres: Bridgestone
Basic Information  
Base: Silverstone, England
Seasons: 3 (2008-present)
Managing Director:

Vijay Mallya

Formula1 information  
Grand Prix's entered: 39
World Championships: 0
Wins: 0
Poles: 1
Fastest laps: 1
Podiums: 1
Points: 31
First Race:

Grand Prix of Australia 2008

Last Race:


Year Chassis Engine Tyres Drivers Championship Points
2010 VJM03 Mercedes Bridgestone Adrian Sutil
Vitantonio Liuzzi
2009 VJM02 Mercedes Bridgestone Adrian Sutil 9th 13
Giancarlo Fisichella
Vitantonio Liuzzi
2008 VJM01 Ferrari Bridgestone Giancarlo Fisichella 10th 0
Adrian Sutil



History and facts


The Force India Formula One Team launched its 2008 FIA Formula One World Championship car and unveiled its new livery against the backdrop of the historic Gateway of India in Mumbai. Force India presented its new challenger, the VJM01, in its new livery of gold, tungsten and white.

The global launch was attended by several eminent personalities, political leaders and a bevy of celebrities and corporate head honchos along with the leadership team of Force India. Commenting on the launch of the new Formula One Team car, Dr. Vijay Mallya, Chairman and Managing Director, Force India Formula One Team Limited said, "I am delighted to present before you the livery of the brand new car that will compete in the 2008 FIA Formula One World Championship. Today is a memorable day not only for me as the owner of India's first-ever Formula One team, but also for millions of Indians who can today watch India occupy a place of pride as Force India becomes the first and only Indian Formula One racing team to compete with the best in the world, at the pinnacle of motorsport."

"The Force India Formula One Team is one of the only eleven elite teams guaranteed an entry into the FIA Formula One World Championship races. The Force India Formula One Team is the new global face of an emerging superpower and is today increasingly viewed as a Team that will change the dynamics of Formula One, bottom up and a Team that dares to dream. Most importantly, the Force India Formula One Team has come to epitomize the dream of every Indian and is powered by the passion of a billion hearts!", added Dr. Mallya.


The Force India Formula One Team marks India's first truly global sports foray and embodies all the values that make India a force in the modern world: grit and determination, youth, dynamism and most importantly an unmatched sense of passion.
The management at the newly formed Force India Formula One Team has firmly put down pillars on which the vision would be achieved. Key amongst these would be the commitment to constant innovation and technological progress, continuous commitment of resources and creation of robust infrastructure to support the team and grass root development of the sport in India.


Based in Silverstone, England, a stone's throw from the famous circuit that hosted the first ever Formula One World Championship race, the Force India Formula One Team has evolved from the iconic Jordan Grand Prix team and the recent Spyker Team. The Team now will challenge some of the automotive industries' greatest brands for track victory.

Adrian Sutil Giancarlo Fisichella Tonio Liuzzi


Force India's driver line-up consists of the very experienced Giancarlo Fisichella and the younger Adrian Sutil. 3rd driver Tonio Liuzzi, formerly woth the Scuderia Toro Rosso team, makes the line up complete. The Team failed to score any points, and at least one car retired in 13 of the 18 races. Adrian Sutil's best result was 13th at the Belgian GP, whereas Fisichella managed 10th at the Spanish GP.


Force India retained its 2008 driver line up, and began the season more promisingly finishing 9th (Sutil) and 11th (Fisichella) at the Australian GP. However, they failed to make it into the points until the Belgian GP where Giancarlo Fisichella scored the team's first pole position and went on to finish 2nd in the race. Fisichella then left the team to replace the injured Felipe Massa at Ferrari, which allowed Liuzzi to fill his seat for the remaining five races. Adrian Sutil scored Force India's only other points at the Italian GP, where he finished 4th. They finished 9th in the World Constructors' Championship.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 20:33

2011 Driver table

  1. 0 Sebastian Vettel 
  2. 0 Fernando Alonso
  3. 0 Mark Webber
  4. 0 Lewis Hamilton


2011 Constructors table

  1. 0 RBR-Renault
  2. 0 McLaren-Mercedes
  3. 0 Ferrari
  4. 0 Mercedes GP


Need to know

  1. Formula 1 lexicon
  2. Without Traction Control
  3. Logistics of Formula
  4. Rain - adapt to win